News Archive | Department of Physics

News Archive

CAARI-SNAEP Conference 2022

The UNT Ion Beam Laboratory (IBL) will be sponsoring and hosting the 26th International Conference on the Applications of Accelerators in Research and Industry (CAARI) at the Embassy Suites by Hilton Convention Center, Denton on 30 October-3 November. This year CAARI will be held jointly with the 53rd Symposium of Northeastern Accelerator Personnel (SNEAP). CAARI was started by UNT IBL physicists more than 50 years ago and the IBL has been the major sponsor of this event held bi-annually since then with the exception of 2020 due to the COVID pandemic.

Dr. Yuan Li Receives NASA Research Grant

Dr. Sandra Ward Quintanilla awarded NSF grant

Physics faculty Dr. Sandra J. Ward Quintanilla was recently awarded an NSF grant with the project title "Low-Energy Atomic Processes Including Ones Involving A Positron." More information about this project can be found on the NSF Website. Congratulations, Dr. Quintanilla!

Dr. Sandra Ward Quintanilla elected to Executive Committee of the APS Topical Group on Few-Body Systems & Multiparticle Dynamics

Welcome Dr. Yuanxi Wang to Physics Phamily

Dr. Yuanxi Wang joined the Physics Department as an assistant professor this month. Dr. Wang's research interest is in the area of computational materials physics, especially 2D materials. Welcome Yuanxi to Physics Phamily!

Dr. Li received an NSF grant

Physics faculty Dr. Yuan Li along with Dr. Yuanyuan Su from University of Kentucky was awarded an NSF grant titled "Collaborative Research: A Systematic and Comprehensive Study of Black Hole-Driven Turbulence in Massive Galactic Systems". This project will deliver a more complete view of the "feedback" provided by accreting super-massive blackholes, leading to a better understanding of the blackhole-host galaxy relation. It will directly probe the energetics of the intra-cluster, circum-galactic, & interstellar media of massive early-type galaxies. Congratulations Dr. Li!

Dr. Cui and Dr. Lin received an NSF grant

Physics faculty Dr. Cui and Dr. Lin were recently awarded an NSF grant titled "Encapsulated perovskite in NiO nanotube for topological meta-photonic devices". This three year project will study meta-photonic devices with high absorption and topological photonic devices using encapsulated perovskites in NiO nanotubes. The success of this project will lead to high-efficiency integrated lasers and solar cell devices. It also enhances the abilities in the education arena by enriching program offerings. Congratulations Drs. Cui and Lin.

Dr. Rout received an NSF grant

Physics faculty Dr. Bibhudutta Rout along with his collaborators Dr. Saraju Mohanty and Dr. Dr. Elias Kougianos from UNT and Dr. Babu Baniya from Grambling State University was recently awarded an NSF grant titled "iMed-Sec: Exploring Hardware-Assisted Solutions for Energy-Efficient Low-Overhead Security and Privacy for the Internet-of-Medical-Things". The aim of this project is to advance medical security and broaden participation of historically underrepresented students in STEM education and research.